The Jerlov Award

The Oceanography Society (TOS) commemorates Dr. Nils Gunnar Jerlov and his many contributions to the study of light in the ocean with an international award, established in his name. The Jerlov Award is presented in recognition of contributions made to the advancement of our knowledge of the nature and consequences of light in the ocean. The recipient of the 2018 award will be honored at a ceremony during the Ocean Optics Conference. The deadline for nominations for the 2018 Jerlov Award is June 1, 2018. For more information visit the TOS website.

mobley2016 Award

Dr. Curtis Mobley is an internationally renowned expert in applications of radiative transfer theory to problems in optical oceanography and ocean color remote sensing. The Oceanography Society proudly recognizes Dr. Mobley as the 2016 recipient of the Jerlov Award for his lifetime of achievements and contributions to optical oceanography.

Best Speaker and Best Poster Awards

All attendees will be able to cast their vote for the best oral presentation and the best conference poster. All presentations (except for invited plenary presentations) and posters will be eligible to receive a vote. The winners of the Best Speaker Award and Best Poster Award will receive certificates, and their names will be announced to all conference attendees after the conclusion of the conference.

2016 Best Speaker

Nathan Briggs
Autonomous backscattering and fluorescence measurements suggest widespread role of particle fragmentation in regulating the biological carbon pump

2016 Best Poster (it’s a tie!)

Zhongping Lee
Why Secchi disk depth is dependent on the diffuse attenuation coefficient rather than the beam attenuation coefficient

Hongyan Xi
Hyperspectal differentiation of phytoplankton taxonomic groups: A comparison between using remote sensing reflectance and absorption spectra

Best Student Paper Award

The Best Student Paper Award is awarded to for novel observations and insightful conclusions that exemplify the high quality of student research reported at the conference and contribute significantly to the body of knowledge regarding the nature and consequences of light in the ocean. The selection process is based on the review by the conference planning committee of an extended abstract. Students should indicate that they are interested in being considered for this award during the Extended Abstract submission process which will open in late June 2018.

2016: John D. Mason
2014: Catherine Mitchell
2012: Jianwei Wei
2010: Purushottam Bhandari
2008: Wayne H. Slade
2006: Amit Lerner
2004: Cedric G. Fichot

2002: Trisha Bergmann
2000: Eric M. Louchard
1998: Cheng-Chien Liu
1996: Chuanmin Hu
1994: Andrew W. Palowitch
1992: Chris H. Fritsen
1990: Charles Mazel

Translate »